View Issue Details

IDProjectCategoryView StatusLast Update
0001295unrealircdpublic2003-11-20 19:43
Reporterbrentos Assigned Tosyzop  
PrioritynormalSeverityminorReproducibilityalways
Status closedResolutionfixed 
Product Version3.2-beta18 
Summary0001295: If a user is shunned and just closes the channel the IRCd does not accept the part message which cause the server to desync
DescriptionIf a user is shun and they then decided to just close the channel window in a program such as mIRC or xchat, the server does not accept the part command and the server will become desynced.
Steps To ReproduceShun a user and then using a multichannel client just close one of the channels. If the user was not shunned the client would just send a part msg but the shun does not allow it like it does the quit ans admin commands
Additional InformationThe problem is very easy to fix. All you have to do is add a the M_SHUN parameter to the end of the part command add in the packet.c file so that it is now this "add_CommandX(MSG_PART, TOK_PART, m_part, 2, M_USER|M_SHUN);"
3rd party modules

Activities

codemastr

2003-10-07 19:48

reporter   ~0003793

That won't cause desync. Desync is when server1 says User is in #chan and server2 says User is not in #chan. That can't happen from this.

brentos

2003-10-07 21:31

reporter   ~0003796

Well I may have used the wrong term but it cause problems cause people and services believe that the person is in the chan when they have already parted it. I just thought it was an easy bug to fix since I gave you the code to fix it and I have tested it so I thought I would point it out but oh well.

syzop

2003-10-07 22:48

administrator   ~0003797

Well the only one who thinks he left the channel is the user itself, all other parties (the server, other clients, services etc) know [s]he is still in it. A shun completely shuns a user, someone else suggested allowing /quit in the past.. this too was rejected, the purpose is to completely make the user (or bot or whatever) unable to communicate.. so even denying quit or part.

brentos

2003-10-07 23:13

reporter   ~0003798

I will just reopen this bug since I believe I didn't state my bug in the right way. I ment to say that it desyncs the user. So I will give you a situation. You get shuned on a server so as a regular user not knowing much about IRC you close the channel window in your program such as mIRC, now when the shun expires say 10 minutes later and if you are still connected to the server you can no longer join the channel since the server thinks that you are still in the channel. That is the only reason I think that the part command should be allowed. I can understand the quit not being allowed cause if the user closes the connection completely the server knows and you get the client exited msg. This may not seem like a problem to you guys but I don't like my users to get confused or have to reconnect to rejoin a chan.

Praetorian_

2003-10-08 04:13

reporter   ~0003799

That is a big with the IRC Client really.... not unreal

fez

2003-10-08 18:32

reporter   ~0003802

brentos: for the previously shunned client to rejoin after parting during a shun, they just have to first type in: /quote part #channel, then they can rejoin.

syzop

2003-10-08 22:04

administrator   ~0003807

Funny to see you shun ppl, and a while later you remove the shun and are concerned with their problems. Hmmm.. mass shunning or something? ;p

brentos

2003-10-09 00:08

reporter   ~0003808

No we use the shun to repremand people for flooding/swearing etc. by adding a temp shun to stop them since the chat is open to young users so we can not have people swearing and what not but we still want the users to be able to have a good chatting experiance

syzop

2003-10-09 00:24

administrator   ~0003809

ic.. was just curious :p.

thilo

2003-10-26 16:47

reporter   ~0003868

If mIRC is indeed closing a channel window without having received the PART confirmation by the server first, it really once more shows what a stupid client mIRC really is.
Same goes for xchat :)

syzop

2003-10-27 00:46

administrator   ~0003873

Ok, well I don't really like it but I can see you got a good point.
I added set::options::allow-part-if-shunned. If enabled, it will allow shunned users to part (but it will remove their 'comment' parameter), this is however disabled by default. See Changes file for more info.

Issue History

Date Modified Username Field Change
2003-10-07 19:08 brentos New Issue
2003-10-07 19:48 codemastr Note Added: 0003793
2003-10-07 21:31 brentos Note Added: 0003796
2003-10-07 22:48 syzop Status new => closed
2003-10-07 22:48 syzop Note Added: 0003797
2003-10-07 23:13 brentos Status closed => feedback
2003-10-07 23:13 brentos Resolution open => reopened
2003-10-07 23:13 brentos Note Added: 0003798
2003-10-08 04:13 Praetorian_ Note Added: 0003799
2003-10-08 18:32 fez Note Added: 0003802
2003-10-08 22:04 syzop Note Added: 0003807
2003-10-09 00:08 brentos Note Added: 0003808
2003-10-09 00:24 syzop Note Added: 0003809
2003-10-26 16:47 thilo Note Added: 0003868
2003-10-27 00:46 syzop Status feedback => resolved
2003-10-27 00:46 syzop Resolution reopened => fixed
2003-10-27 00:46 syzop Assigned To => syzop
2003-10-27 00:46 syzop Note Added: 0003873
2003-11-20 19:43 syzop Status resolved => closed